Batavia Public Library

Board of Library Trustees & Administration

The Batavia Public Library District is an autonomous special district / municipal corporation that operates under the Public Library District Act of 1991 [75 ILCS 16]. The Library is governed by an elected Board of Library Trustees composed of seven residents of the Library District. The Trustees are elected at large at the Consolidated Election in odd-numbered years for staggered terms of four years. The Library Board meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. and its meetings are open to the public. The Board of Library Trustees establishes the budget and policy for the Library and appoints the Library Director, who serves as the Library’s chief executive officer, manages the day-to-day operations of the Library, and is responsible for hiring all other employees.

Library Leader – past winners and selection process for an award that honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Batavia Public Library District

Jo Ann Smith
Serving through 2021     
733 Ekman Drive
Batavia, IL 60510-8936
(630) 482-2838

Vice President
Kate Garrett
Serving through 2023
335 First St.
Batavia, IL 60510-2401
(630) 726-3366

Daniel R. Russo
Serving through 2023
3 N. Jackson St.
Batavia, IL 60510-1813
(630) 879 2729

Jennifer Culotta
Serving through 2021
1338 Holbrook Ln.
Batavia, IL 60510-9235
(630) 402-0944

Elizabeth P. Larson
Serving through 2023
1327 Garden Ct.
Batavia, IL 60510-3333
(773) 220-5802

Diane Blodgett 
Serving through 2021
1312 Cherry Drive  
Batavia, IL 60510-9301
(630) 879-5015

Michael MacKenzie
Serving through 2021
403 Walnut St.
Batavia, IL 60510-2967
(630) 879-0357

George H. Scheetz
Library Director
(630) 879-1393, ext. 350